Located on the Kansas River
about 12 miles from
Lecompton has a long and rich history, beginning with its being the
capitol of Kansas
Territory was opened for settlement in 1854, some of the first pioneers in the
area were A.W. and A.G. Glenn, father and son; G. W. Zinn, David Martin, M.S.
Winter and William Shirley. The small settlement that formed was originally
called "Bald Eagle," but soon changed to Lecompton in honor of
Samuel D. Lecompte, the chief justice of the Territorial Supreme Court.
The Lecompton Town Company was organized at the
Potawatomie Agency in 1855 and
Samuel D. Lacompte,
John A. Halderman, Daniel
Woodson, George W.
Clarke, Chauncey B. Donaldson and
William R. Simmons. In the spring of 1855, the town company held its first
meetings in Westport,
Missouri and by May, the town site, consisting of 600
acres, was surveyed and platted. It was designed with the expectation of making
Lecompton, not only the capitol of the territory, but also to make it a large
city. The first house was built of logs by W.R. Simmons in the fall of 1854.
1855 was a busy year for the new
settlement as workers began to construct a new capitol building in the
east part of the town on a picturesque site overlooking the